I Had My Reasons

I used to claim that I didn’t need to go to church.  God is everywhere, right?  And there exist a multitude of ways to connect with God.  Therefore, I have no need for church.  Or, at least, that is what I told myself.

But, truth be told, walking into my church renews me.  The music centers me, brings me to myself and to God.  I can’t always stay 100% in the moment.  Sometimes my mind wanders during the sermon.  Or I find myself off on a tangent, analyzing this or that.  But, when I force myself to focus, to listen, I know that God is there in that place.  And the collective experience of worship is what makes it holy.  We need each other, to love each other, to honor God in the way we treat each other.

I need church.  I am not my best self without it.  I remembered that today.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “I Had My Reasons”


  1. Divinity is in all of us. True places of worship which teaches unconditional love have much higher energies surrounding them, and our sensitivity feels it. Honor the divinity within as well as the external sources.

    Wishing you the very best in 2012. 🙂

    • pensivepea Says:

      I completely agree that divinity is in all of us. Sometimes, though, I need God’s love reflecting off of others to help me discover the divinity in myself. I need the sense of community that church offers. I am grateful I have found a place to worship where I feel truly at home.


Leave a Reply

