Muffins, Cookies & Toasties. Yum!

This holiday season I conquered my fear of baking.  In just over a week, I managed to turn out four different baked goods exceeded my expectations for awesomeness.  Let’s review, shall we?

Lemon Cranberry Muffins (Vegan Yum Yum)*:  I shied away from these muffins at first, because Amy is not a fan of lemon (I know, I know… lemon is right in the name).  But, I have never had a recipe in the Vegan Yum Yum cookbook steer me wrong.  So, I threw caution to the wind and chose these muffins as my first foray into baking.  Um… YUM!  I made them on Christmas morning (no pressure… I could just have ruined Christmas if the muffins didn’t turn out well), and true to the cookbook’s promise, they took under 30 minutes.  The only part of the recipe that was even remotely challenging was the zesting of the lemon.  Otherwise, an easy recipe that yielded muffins that tasted like I had spent hours in the kitchen.  A huge hit.  *The muffin recipe is only in the cookbook, not on the website.  But, if you are a vegan or if you are veganish, you need to purchase this cookbook.  I use it all the time.

Apple-Cinnamon Toastie (Babycakes):  This recipe is the most complicated of the three I chose for our New Year’s Day gathering of family and friends.  Even for a novice, this cookbook offers detailed recipes that take some of the trepidation out of the baking experience.  This recipe made me feel like I had mad skills, since there is a layer of cinnamony goodness that has to be swirled through the cake using a teaspoon.  Nifty.  The toastie turned out to be so delicious that I am going to overlook that I had to cook it for almost half an hour longer than the recipe called for.  Yes, I had the oven set on the right temperature.  Gah.  But seriously, I had multiple people ask for the recipe.  And these folks are total omnivores, so I got a kick out of their clamoring over a vegan toastie.  And I really like to say toastie.  Toastie.

Gingersnaps (Babycakes):  Folks scarfed these up today.  Maybe it is because gingersnaps seem like holiday cookies.  Or maybe it is because I made the cookies way bigger than the recipe called for (I have limited spatial-orientation skills), so people could say they just had one cookie and leave out the fact that it was HUGE.  But there were only a few left by the end of the party.  The recipe was easy to follow and quick to prepare.  And the cooking times on this one were accurate down to the minute.  Spicy goodness.

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies (Babycakes):  I love chocolate.  Love.  And these cookies surely didn’t disappoint on the chocolate front.  In fact, there were so many chocolate chips in the dough that they kept falling all over as I tried to spoon the dough onto the cookie sheet.  Not a bad problem to have at all.  I think these are Amy’s favorite of all the baked goods.  Can’t say that I blame her.  I haven’t had a chocolate chip cookie this good since I became a vegan–or long before that, for that matter.

And that, friends, is the Holiday Baking Extravaganza review.  Consider buying the Vegan Yum Yum and Babycakes cookbooks.  Neither will disappoint.  And they will make you look like you know what you are doing in the kitchen… but make sure to wear an apron and toss some flour about while in the process of baking.  You wouldn’t want to make it look too easy.

Explore posts in the same categories: Reviews

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Muffins, Cookies & Toasties. Yum!”

  1. Amy Says:

    Toastie.


Leave a Reply

