Uh-oh!

10 month old babies crack themselves up.  It’s true.

Jane holds her sippy cup over the edge of her high chair, looks at me, drops the cup, then says, “Uh-oh!”  Sometimes, for added measure, she shrugs her little shoulders and holds up her hands like, “Wonder how that could have happened?!”  No one told me how hard it would be not to laugh at this stuff!

10 month old babies also tend to reflect their parents actions right back at them.  It’s scary.

Any time Amy or I are drinking out of a cup, Jane will stop what she is doing, look at us and say, “Ahhh.”  Every time she takes a sip of water out of her sippy cup, she says “ahhh” after she swallows.  This is maddening.  And funny.  Seriously, which one of us does this?  And why has no one made us stop?!?  And, sure this time it’s funny and harmless, but no one told me how hard it would be to be a person worthy of being mimicked by my sweet child.

I am glad no one told me.  I wouldn’t have believed them anyway.  Just like I would never have believed how much I would love her.  Or how little it would phase me to wipe snot off her face with my bare hand.  Parenthood is a crazy, lovely, messy gig.  It’s true.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Uh-oh!”


  1. This is a really adorable take on life with a 10 month old – it is excellently written too. Keep up the good work!

    • pensivepea Says:

      I realize how fortunate I am to get to spend so much time with her. I try to stay in the moment, to not sweat the small stuff, and to write down the amazing things that happen everyday. She isn’t going to be this small for very long. She is already growing up so quickly!


Leave a Reply

