Spicy Vegetarian Chili (the secret is the …)

About 10 o’clock this morning, I started yearning for chili.  Odd, no?  Especially since I live in Florida, and it was about 85 degrees today.  

Actually, what I really wanted was a chili dog.  I was even willing to deal with the sub-par nature of the veggie dog to fulfill this desire… but then I remembered that tomorrow begins our South Florida Thanksgiving Extravaganza, so I didn’t want to lug a bunch of groceries into the house.  (Apparently, veggie dogs and buns constitute a bunch of groceries)

So, I just went with the chili.

My mom makes great chili, which I have adapted to a vegetarian version before.  But, I was feeling a bit adventurous, so I went scavenging the internet for a recipe.  

Whole Foods’ Spicy Vegetarian Chili recipe won out.  I don’t like a lot of random veggies in my chili (if I wanted vegetable soup, I would make vegetable soup), and this recipe stuck mainly to peppers, onions and garlic.  Alright, the recipe did call for one carrot and one stalk of celery, which didn’t seem too excessive.  But I left it out anyway, because I am a rebel that way.  And because who wants to come home after Thanksgiving to wilted celery?  I can’t have that hanging over my head all weekend.

Ahem.

The chili proved to be super easy to make.  It calls for chipotle peppers in adobo, which I had never even heard of, but which live in the ethnic foods isle of my local Publix.  Those peppers totally made the chili.  Honest.  Those peppers also taught me an important lesson about reading directions carefully.  They came in a very small can, which I almost dumped directly into the chili.  If I had done that, flames would have shot out of my eyeballs during the tasting phase of the chili production.  One and a half tablespoons of the dang things gave the chili a hefty kick.  A whole can would have made it radioactive.

The point of this post?  Chili=good.  Chili with chipotle peppers in adobo=spicy deliciousness.  

Explore posts in the same categories: Recipes

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

