Food for Friday

Two quick food related tidbits:

1) Jane & I had delicious vegan corn chowder from Cafe Hey today.  They had a vendor booth at the Tampa Downtown Market, and they were the only place with vegan food that I spotted.  I hadn’t gotten the opportunity to try their food before today, but I will definitely be back for more!   The chowder had a smoky taste, spicy without being hot.  Loved it.

The woman running the booth said that they aren’t carrying vegan baked goods right now, because she got tired of baking things folks weren’t buying.  But, she said she would be willing to give it a go again, if enough people showed interest.  So, if you live in Tampa, go visit Cafe Hey and let them know that you’d like some vegan treats.  But then you gotta go buy the stuff.

2)  I made Spinach Artichoke pizza for dinner, loosely based on this recipe. I totally used pre-made pizza crust from Whole Foods, but it worked out just fine.  The base sauce is tasty and creamy.  The nutmeg really pulls things together.  Of course, I left the cheese off my half, and I made the sauce with rice milk.  Both Amy and I did feel like the pizza might be missing an ingredient, though.  Maybe sun-dried tomatoes (which are suggested, but I didn’t use).  Or, even better, maybe baby portabellos and a balsamic reduction drizzled over the pizza.  Try the recipe.  Overall, a winner.  

Explore posts in the same categories: Recipes, Reviews

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

