Curve Schmerve

Each semester, I forget how discouraging grading the first papers from my students can be.  Honestly, it is a good thing I forget… otherwise, I don’t think I could willingly sign up for this kind of torture time after time.

I wonder if they are just so woefuly unprepared that they can’t bring their performance up to university standards by the time Paper 1 is due.

Maybe I am not reaching them with my carefully laid plans and my thorough explanations?

Do they not like the subject?

Does my class get attention only after Chemistry and Biology (we are a science-focused school–many of my kids have a killer course load in math and science)?

Perhaps they didn’t believe me when I told them I was a merciless grader?

All I am sure of is that Monday is going to hit them pretty hard.  The average grade was a C-.  No curve.

Buckle your seatbelts, kids.  This promises to be quite a ride.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

