Can I Call a Time Out?

I can’t think. Really.

Too many tasks. Not enough time. Student papers don’t seem to be grading themselves. Now multiple lesson plans have to be created each week (because I picked up a new job at a different school last week). I have to write a theory-based paper for the first time in about 10 years.

Actually, that’s it: the paper is tripping me up. Presenting my ideas to my colleagues happens to be intimidating. I am not entrenched in theory like they are. I have practical experience, but I swear that sometimes I am trying so hard to stay on top of things that I forget to even take note of my own experience. Sad but true.

Teaching is hectic. Students need attention. Papers come in one after the other. Grading, assigning value to a student’s efforts, can be frustrating and demoralizing (more for them than for me… I feel fine, thanks).

To add my own work on top of that, well it makes me feel like a graduate student. Exhilarating, daunting and seemingly impossible. My “To Do” list extends to a full page. I swear, I used to be really good at this . . . let’s just pray I find the groove soon, before my duties as the editor for next year’s textbook kick in!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

