On an Afternoon in Florida

Starting at my computer, I felt the weight of the afternoon workload pressing down on me. I desperately sought a distraction from the 60 student papers in my Timbuk2 bag, waiting to be graded. So, I ventured outside.

My brain must not be functioning properly, since I assumed that the weather would be temperate enough for a stroll. Wha? A stroll in mid-September in Florida? Only if I wanted to resemble a drowned rat during my office hours. But I found a nice bench in the shade (which meant it was only about 89 degrees), and I laid back to stare up through the trees.

The drone of student banter, and the whir of the occasional skateboard passing by, had almost lulled me to sleep when I felt something crawling on my arm. Without opening my eyes, I simply brushed it off. Then I felt something crawling up my sleeve. Damn it. Ants.

I sat up reluctantly, shook myself out of the haze, and decided on some coffee. Those papers in my bag had not graded themselves during my brief respite, and I needed caffeine if I was going to find the will to face them.

I meandered my way toward Starbucks, vowing not to go back outside until at least late October. Something tickled my cheek, and just as I reached back to brush it off, the bastard bit me. An ant had the audacity to hitch a ride on a journey that would have taken him days, and then in an impudent showing of complete disregard for my feelings, he bit me.

Now, I have been known to catch roaches and take them outside. I spent 15 minutes the other morning rescuing a dehydrated earthworm on my back porch. But this ant, oh I tossed him aside like yesterday’s news and kept strolling toward that grande skinny latte.

And, during this entire turn of events, the jukebox in my head played Break My Stride.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

