Don’t Judge Me

Yesterday, I posted this status update on facebook:  I roll my eyes at people’s angst about gay marriage. The family unit isn’t going to fall apart because the state recognizes a wider array of families.

I didn’t have a lot of deep, philosophical thoughts about the issue.  My gut just tells me that our children, when they are adults, are going to be mortified that our generation even had to conduct this debate.

A facebook “friend” decided to quote scripture at me, in response: It is not angst… its just the understanding that when our definition of marriage differs from that of God’s, we are headed down a road we really dont want to go. “The state” is still in need of God’s blessings. Romans 1:18-32

I read this and rolled my eyes.  The guy who wrote this knew me in high school.  He was normal enough.  Apparently, he has been “saved.”  Now, he is a religious nut job.  He has already tried to express to me that acknowledging Jesus Christ as my savior is the road to my salvation.  If you are scratching your head, thinking, “wait… isn’t she a Christian anyway?,” the answer is yes.  Apparently, my refusal to use my Bible as a weapon has him all confused.

Then, I made the mistake of looking up the verse he quoted at me.  Ready?  Here are the highlights:

18The wrath of God is being revealed from heaven against all the godlessness and wickedness of men who suppress the truth by their wickedness. . . .21For although they knew God, they neither glorified him as God nor gave thanks to him, but their thinking became futile and their foolish hearts were darkened. . . .24Therefore God gave them over in the sinful desires of their hearts to sexual impurity for the degrading of their bodies with one another. 25They exchanged the truth of God for a lie, and worshiped and served created things rather than the Creator—who is forever praised. Amen.

26Because of this, God gave them over to shameful lusts. Even their women exchanged natural relations for unnatural ones. 27In the same way the men also abandoned natural relations with women and were inflamed with lust for one another. Men committed indecent acts with other men, and received in themselves the due penalty for their perversion.

28Furthermore, since they did not think it worthwhile to retain the knowledge of God, he gave them over to a depraved mind, to do what ought not to be done. . . . Although they know God’s righteous decree that those who do such things deserve death, they not only continue to do these very things but also approve of those who practice them.

That BASTARD.  How dare he judge me like that?  Who the hell gives him the right to question my relationship with God?  Oh, wait… that’s right… this is precisely why people dislike Christians.  They use their religion to scorn others, to wound them into submission. Clearly, a religion that was founded on love, mercy and grace has been tainted by the self-righteous legalism of its followers.

Bastard.  Good thing God loves him, because I think he’s an asshole.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

