Where do you stand?

Last night, I made a strange request. I wanted to go to Red Lobster for dinner. I know, I know. But, people, there are cheese biscuits there. And they have shrimp, done up in multiple fashions. And once the idea got in my mind, it would not leave. So, to The Lobster we went. (Amy called it The Lobster all afternoon. “Baby, it’s The Lobster for you tonight! Only the best for my girl.” And, as a side note, this whole thing is even funnier because Amy HATES seafood)

The cheese biscuits, they were delightful. Amy ended up with an order of popcorn shrimp. Which went well. Until she realized that she had eaten about 50 popcorn shrimp. And then she dared to ask the question, “What is a popcorn shrimp, really?” She very seriously went about the business of de-breading a popcorn shrimp. Now this is delicate work here, the de-breading. It was like she was doing surgery. Little tiny surgery. And when she had finished, she held up the most pathetic looking shrimp I had ever seen. It looked like a white gummy shrimp. My response? “Please put its little breading jacket back on, and let’s go.” Seems as though the jacket makes the shrimp.

We stopped by Blockbuster on the way home to fetch a film. We ended up with Ocean’s 13, which is irrelevant (but I knew you would want to know). As we approached the counter, the cashier looked at Amy and said, “Do you have a Blockbuster card?” Her response? “I stand over here,” as she walked with her head down through the security scanners to stand by the exit door. Your response right now? What the fuck?? Right. I just looked at the guy, who was giving me the “Is that your Special Friend?” look, took out my driver’s license and paid for the video.

Look, I know that it was a strange response to an innocent question. But she takes me to Red Lobster; I forgive her idiosyncrasies. She is quirky and at times a bit strange. But she is my girl, and I wouldn’t change her for the world.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Where do you stand?”

  1. Amy Says:

    I love you too.

  2. Miss Kris Says:

    When I worked at The Lobster, we weren’t allowed to eat the cheese biscuits. That didn’t stop us, though. We used to sneak a biscuit into the corner and nibble on it like mice. Those things are sooo tasty yet sooo bad for you :p

    The story about Amy makes me love her more 🙂

  3. Miss Kris Says:

    When I worked at The Lobster, we weren’t allowed to eat the cheese biscuits. That didn’t stop us, though. We used to sneak a biscuit into the corner and nibble on it like mice. Those things are sooo tasty yet sooo bad for you :p

    The story about Amy makes me love her more 🙂


Leave a Reply

