Pensive, Solitary Pea

Yesterday was a rather surreal 24 hours of aloneness. I don’t work on Tuesdsays and Thursdays. Well, I don’t have to go in to campus on Tuesdays and Thursdays. My time is usually divided into doing household chores, running errands, grading papers and waiting for Amy to come home. But she has been at a conference this week…. so yesterday five o’clock came and went, and I was still alone. Strange. I made myself some dinner, watched tv, read some student essays. But there was this pervasive feeling of isolation. My only contact with anyone last night was the telephone. And that did nothing to lift the slightly oppressive weight of the silence in the house. I even succumbed to watching e.r. just to pass the time. Yowzers.

All in all, I will take my time alone in small doses. A few hours at a time is just fine with me. An empty house with no one to pal around with isn’t that much fun at all.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Pensive, Solitary Pea”

  1. Miss Kris Says:

    Heh…have a kid and you will never be alone again!

  2. Pensive Pea Says:

    I know it. Looking forward to it… in the way that people look forward to the complete unknown and hope for the best! 🙂


Leave a Reply

