Blankly They Stare…

Today I had conferences with my students. They are only 15 minutes each. Funny how 15 minutes can seem like an eternity in some cases. My personal favorite are the kids that will come in, only answer in monosyllables, stare at the floor the whole time and take off like their ass is on fire the second I give them the okay to go. Really? Is it THAT painful to have to spend 15 minutes with me? And what answers do you think the floor holds for you?

I have to drone on and on, in order to even keep things moving. It sure does suck to have to listen to yourself for 15 minutes. I start to wonder…. what am I even saying? Does any of this make any sense at all? Or I will get halfway through a sentence and realize that I had completely zoned out. I have absolutely no idea what I was going to say next, and the kid is no help because they are just staring blankly at me, as if I were speaking Portugese.

One guy wandered in today looking like he had been on a three day bender. Cheap vodka. It happens to the best of us. But look, dude, if you puke on my floor, I am gonna be pissed. That’s all I’m saying.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Blankly They Stare…”

  1. Trista Says:

    is it you? did you used to blog at another blog somewhere else? And then you got a new job and stopped blogging? if it’s really you… I have missed you.


Leave a Reply

